top of page
  • Yvonne Otieno

There's no cost to kindness


Photo courtesy: Google



Growing up, I always feared 'dirty' people. I assumed that any dirty person was either a madman or a beggar.

I grew up in a small village where everybody knew everybody, and so I knew the market madman (may he rest in peace) and the beggars who walked from home to home looking for food.

My mom never sent them away without instant food and even some take away.


The first time I visited the city (Kisumu) is the day I realized the reality of less fortunate people as I saw street boys and girls all over. I was a small village kid with little exposure. I avoided any contact or extending help to street beggars until my turning point in 2019.


I was rushing to work one morning in such a hurry fearing I would be late on my first day of work. A speeding car passed and I almost got mad because I imagined the mess he would have left had it rained the previous night. The car started slowing down near a group of street boys who ran to it as though they knew it was coming. The man inside it handed them some bread and milk, had a small talk, and sped away.


This was my turning point.


I don't kiss and tell, but I have to say that today, whenever I can, I drop a coin or two to some random beggar, and it feels good. I don't know about you but helping someone who can never return the favour gives a joy beyond explanation. The good thing is that they will never judge whatever you give.


I have also come to notice that there are three types of street beggars;

  1. Those who entertain for tips. I love this group because though they can't provide for themselves, they use their talents for some good.

  2. Those who sit at strategic street corners or wander in bus stations.

  3. Those paid to beg. I was shocked and mad when I first heard of this group. I don't necessarily blame this group but those who pay them. After all, they are in a business contract and loyal to their masters.

Nevertheless, all these people are beggars and want the same thing.



Photo by Katt Yukawa on Unsplash


What do you consider before dropping a coin or note on a beggar's plate?


The truth is, you can never know who is a genuine beggar or one in business. I once encountered a very talented guitarist at Nairobi bus station. Another group of young acrobats left people with surprised faces as they performed passionately, showcasing their talent for everyone. This young group between the ages five and fifteen years did some dangerous tricks with no protective gear entertaining us as we waited for a bus.


Why am I giving these examples? The answer is simple. There are a lot of talented people who would dominate the entertainment industry if only they had support. Like the biblical story of Peter and John at the beautiful gate goes, you don't have to give money. If you can nurture their talent and make it worthwhile, do that because you would have offered a long-term solution. (Look at what Mc Tricky is doing, thanks to the Churchill show)


Now let's address the elephant in the room; beggars in business. I once saw a lady along Moi Avenue, Nairobi, pretending to have an amputated leg. The synthetic leg was beside her, but to my surprise, she had both legs fully functional. Another beggar pretending to be in a wheelchair was arrested in Kiambu when he couldn't hold his bladder any longer and decided to run to the toilet.


What then should we do? Should we abandon all of them because we can't tell the difference?


Here is my take;


Show kindness anyway and let goodness follow you. Whatever they do with your kindness is on them. Do not shy away because some people are a fraud. At the end of the day, you will not be judged for helping a liar but for not helping the needy.


Our society needs more kind people.

There are many ways of showing kindness. If you can't offer material things, try complimenting someone. Offer your seat when using public transport or in church. Help a colleague with some tasks, no strings attached. Try praying for someone. Share your lunch with someone or do your roommates/siblings' laundry.


The list is endless. Any good deed you do will never go unnoticed. Whether people appreciate your kindness is not up to you.


Do your part and go your way, as the Swahili proverb goes;

Tenda mema, nenda zako, loosely translated as "Do good and go your way."



Photo by Dayne Topkin on Unsplash


86 views1 comment

댓글 1개


George Osewe Otieno
George Osewe Otieno
2021년 3월 03일

This is wonderful. Congratulations for the good work.

좋아요
bottom of page