top of page
  • Courage Asamoah

A touch of light

​I was so excited one early Tuesday morning. As per my daily routine, I got soaked into soul lifting music. That day’s excitement was particularly special and unusual. Aside from my genuine thanksgiving to God , it was inspired by a prior notice of prospects of business coming on that very morning. The outcome would leave an enlightening smile on the face of my ever ready and expectant pocket. I just couldn't wait to finish what was scheduled for the day.


“Behind every Joy

There is a secret

Before Time memorial

Eternal Joy is embedded in Prophecy”

​I graced the road and picked a 'trotro' car to Kwame Nkrumah Circle. The driver's mate gave in his seat for me since there wasn't any available space for incoming passengers. After a few minutes, my facial expression changed into an instant monument. It dawned on me that I had left all my cash at home.



Photo by Jesse Martini on Unsplash


The situation reminded me of one of mummy's favorite saying, "Babla gobe, Kotoku me nothing” (literally meaning well dressed, but empty pocket). Sweat and increased body temperature merged into each other. I had to act fast to avoid any embarrassment.

​Thoughts served me with diverse options. For the first time, I made what could have easily been thousands of calls in a span of seconds. I was just a stone’s throw away from my destination. I had no option than to confess to the mate.


This mate did not even show any form of resentment.



Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash


Instead, he flashed light on my situation. He saved my moment and day. A trusted friend reached out with an MTN Mobile Money transfer however the time for withdrawal would have kept the other passengers waiting for unmeasured hours. The mate simply saved time, money, and energy. I was touched by this kind gesture. I picked his number and later returned a handsome reward to him.


“Help is light

Unto the path of the giver and receiver

This light shines in dark places

It never dies”

​The reward is not to blow my own trumpet or furnish my left hand with the kindness shown. This is to encourage people to help in any way they can. You do not need to wear suit or be a millionaire before you can offer a helping hand to others.


Although, my help was transport fare, others may need just someone to talk to or listen or give words of encouragement. Help in itself is a lifestyle. Thus, wherever you are, you must be 'help conscious'. Ever ready to help.

In a broader sense, we need to seek avenues to offer help in deed, kind and substance. Permit me to add, helping others is like service rendered with love to humanity. And the greatest help you can offer people is God’s unconditional love. Many need it.



Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash


So, If you wondering what legacy you can live in the hearts of men, be a 'touch of light' by being a 'help renderer' and a ‘love giver’. Helpers are lighters. Repeat these words loudly to yourself, “I am a touch of light. I am a help giver.”

Lessons to take home

​1. You can be an instrument of help wherever you are positioned in life.

​2. Helping others influences and inspires people positively.

​3. Help is service.

4. Any form of help given out of love leaves an eternal impact.

​5. Do not be scared to ask for help from the right people when need arises.


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page